By: Adam Basciano

As the cast for the Zack Snyder film continued to fill roles, some of Superman’s supporting characters remained absent. Chief among them was Perry White.  Zack Snyder has officially hired the Daily Planet editor in chief.  Actor Laurence Fishburne (The Matrix Trilogy”, “CSI”) has been cast in the role and will bark orders at Clark Kent (Henry Cavill) and Lois Lane (Amy Adams)  in the upcoming film, according to Entertainment Weekly. Along with several of his cast mates Fishburne is an Academy Award Nominee as well as an Emmy Award winning actor.  Fishburne has an interesting connection to Superman. He starred opposite one-time Jor – El Marlon Brando, in the 1979 film “Apocalypse Now.”

As with any casting announcement internet fan reaction varies from positive to negative.  While I’ve seen a healthy amount of positive comments, negative opinion does exist.  Unfortunately, the basement dwellers have reached a whole new level of idiocy with this one. I’ve read comments that read; ” My reason for this has to do with skin color… but I know I’m not a racist, but Perry White has always been white in the comics.  How would people feel if Martin Luther King Jr, or Muhammad Ali were played by white actors?”  To anyone who shares this sentiment, I couldn’t disagree with you more. My reason for this has to do with the fact that I think you’re an idiot, but I know I’m not a mean person.  Ok, now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, you can’t compare the casting of Martin Luther King Jr. to Perry White. Why?  Well, because Martin Luther King Jr. was a real person, whereas Perry White is, now stay with me here…..FICTIONAL!  Martin Luthor King Jr. faced many trials and tribulations based on racial biases and championed equality no matter one’s race, ethnicity or creed.  The only reason Perry White has held a constant depiction as a caucasian male, is nothing more than the fact that at the time when these characters were created the comics industry predominantly consisted of caucasian male creators.  Besides, having an actor of a different race or ethnicity play a traditionally depicted caucasian character is nothing new in comics to film adaptations.  Michael Clarke Duncan was cast as the Kingpin in “Daredevil”, while Kristin Kreuk and Sam Jones III portrayed Lana Lang and Pete Ross on “Smallville”.  At the end of the day, when I think of Perry White, I think of the tough, short-tempered, yet fair editor in chief at Metropolis’ greatest newspaper.  Do I think Laurence Fishburne has the ability to portray those characteristics on film?  Yes, without a shadow of a doubt I do.   

