Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

By: Adam Basciano

I was about to write an article about the release date of “Batman Vs Superman” aka, the sequel to “Man of Steel” being delayed to May 6, 2016.  Truthfully though, as a fan of both these characters, I couldn’t bring myself to write it, because I was a bit dejected, so I delayed! Today has brought news that I’m more than happy about! Warner Brothers & Zack Snyder have announced the actor’s who will play Alfred Pennyworth and Lex Luthor in the superhero film.

Alfred

Alfred Pennyworth, Bruce Wayne’s long time care-giver and confidant will be played by veteran Academy Award winning actor Jeremy Irons.  The talented actor has been recently seen in the television show “The Borgias”,  and is also well-known for his role in “Die Hard With A Vengeance”, and his vocal performance as Scar in the “Lion King.” Regarding the casting, director Zack Snyder issued the following; ” As everyone knows, Alfred is Bruce Wayne’s most trusted friend, ally and mentor, a noble guardian and father figure. He is an absolutely critical element in the intricate infrastructure that allows Bruce Wayne to transform himself into Batman. It is an honor to have such an amazingly seasoned and gifted actor as Jeremy taking on the important role of the man who mentors and guides the guarded and nearly impervious façade that encapsulates Bruce Wayne.”

Jesse Eisenberg

The role of Lex Luthor, Superman’s main rival for decades will be portrayed by actor Jesse Eisenberg. The actor has recently been seen in films including “Now You See Me” & “The Social Network.”  Regarding the Lex Luthor character, as well as the choice of actor Zack Snyder said;  “Lex Luthor is often considered the most notorious of Superman’s rivals, his unsavory reputation preceding him since 1940. What’s great about Lex is that he exists beyond the confines of the stereotypical nefarious villain. He’s a complicated and sophisticated character whose intellect, wealth and prominence position him as one of the few mortals able to challenge the incredible might of Superman. Having Jesse in the role allows us to explore that interesting dynamic, and also take the character in some new and unexpected directions.”
Lex Luthor
Now it’s time for my two cents! On Jeremy Irons as Alfred! Brilliant. Mr. Irons walks onto a set, and instantly gives it class and respectability. Anytime you add an Academy Award winning actor to a film, it’s always a good thing! I have no doubt he will be a fantastic Alfred to Ben Affleck’s Bruce Wayne/Batman. On to Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor.  Did I ever think of him for the role? No. Was he my first choice? Obviously not. Do I like him for Lex Luthor? The more I think about it, yes I do! First & foremost, he’s a really good actor.  Secondly, having seen both “The Social Network” & “Now You See Me,” I firmly believe the actor has the range and capability to pull off Lex Luthor. This casting seems to suggest that Superman & Lex Luthor will be contemporaries in age. I don’t mind that at all as it adds a different perspective to their adversarial relationship. This dynamic has been rare in live action media, and has actually never been explored in a feature film. Just thinking about it already has me calling to mind elements of the graphic novel “Superman: Birthright.”
Superman-Batman movie logo
Now I could go into my usual rant about the irrational “basement dwellers” on-line, and address some of their baseless claims about Jesse Eisenberg and his capability to play Lex Luthor, but I won’t.  It’s not worth my time.  If you’re annoyed with their brand of reaction, just remember 1989, 2008, & 2012! Years that their ridiculous complaints made them look like absolute morons, after the films came out and shut them up!
(Source: Warner Brothers)
